Fifty Shades Popular

So if you are in the world of books, or even if you’re not, I bet you have heard of this series at least once this summer season. It is all anybody really talks about. Some people are shocked by this book, but really, as the famous saying goes, sex sells. And this is case and point with this what some may call sizzling trilogy. I myself enjoyed the books, but not for the reason you may all think. If you look past all the sex in this novel, there is actually a story, and that is what intrigued me to devour all 3 books this summer.

Image

I will say that the first book was not my favourite, it started off all jumpy and just didn’t really serve much purpose. I mean it did it’s purpose to introduce the characters, but it was done in a predictable and uninteresting way. The first book did explain everything, yet left me with questions all at the same time. So for that, I give E.L. James a thumbs up, because in that sense, I was intrigued to keep on reading.

I really liked when the romance started to come into the story of Anastasia and Christian. It showed just a bit in the first novel, where Anastasia was trying not to fall for Christian after finding out his intentions with her. Falling for someone whom you know won’t reciprocate is hard and I feel that these emotions were stirring through the book. She was trying to distance herself while at the same time she was falling for him even more.

Image

The second book (Fifty Shades Darker)  is where things get way more interesting, but that is just me. For some, the second book is uninteresting, I think it is due to the lack of steamy sex. It is funny, but true. The second book, I would say is a toned-down version of the first. The sex leaves centre stage and makes way for the budding romance of Anastasia and Christian. Fifty Shades of Grey leaves us hanging in the balance with Ana leaving Christian because of his “kinky fuckery” ( as she puts it). With the start of Fifty Shades Darker, Ana is dealing with the rupture that is her heart and her feelings towards Christian. Even though she doesn’t know it, this separation is also tormenting Christian, and with this he realizes that he wants Anastasia in a way he didn’t expect. I love this turn of events, it really is a truly charming story that evolves from this point.

Image

And if you couldn’t get enough with the first two ( Fifty Shades of Grey and Fifty Shades Darker), then hang on for Fifty Shades Freed. As the title says it, Christian finds some sort of release from his past and the last of the trilogy plays out quite beautifully. There is love, romance, thrills, and suspense, there are also some moments of tragedy, which forces Christian to realize that he cannot control every single situation in his or Ana’s life. For me the last two books are the best of the trilogy. And I really love the beginning of the third book when the time just jumps around and the pieces are filled up little by little. I really recommend at least giving this book a try, it really is good. It is light reading, nothing like George RR Martin’s Game of Thrones series (These guys just require a little more commitment in the reading department, not that there is anything wrong with that). These books are easy to read through.

And here are the summaries for the novels, courtesy of Chapters:

FIFTY SHADES OF GREY: When college student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating.  The unworldly Ana realizes she wants this man, and Grey admits he wants her, too-but on his own terms. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian’s secrets and explores her own desires.

FIFTY SHADES DARKER: Daunted by Christian’s dark secrets and singular tastes, Ana has broken off their relationship to start a new career. But desire for Christian still dominates her every waking thought. They rekindle their searing sensual affair, and while Christian wrestles with his inner demons, Ana is forced to make the most important decision of her life.

FIFTY SHADES FREED: Now, Ana and Christian have it all-love, passion, intimacy, wealth, and a world of possibilities for their future. But Ana knows that loving her Fifty Shades will not be easy, and that being together will pose challenges that neither of them would anticipate. Just when it seems that their strength together will eclipse any obstacle, misfortune, malice, and fate conspire to turn Ana’s deepest fears into reality.

http://www.chapters.indigo.ca/books/Fifty-Shades-Trilogy-Fifty-Shades-E-L-James/9780345804044-item.html?ikwid=e+l+james&ikwsec=Books

Happy Reading!!!

5 thoughts on “Fifty Shades Popular

  1. This is perhaps the fifth blog post that I’ve read about this series. Wow, it really is popular. Well, I know that it is popular because every time I pass the bookstores, they have these books on the front. I have never read any of these books yet but the more I hear about them, the more intrigue I become. Hmmm. Anyway, great post! If you have time, check out my new blog http://bookmavenpicks.wordpress.com/.

    • Hello !!! Yeah the books are pretty popular, really and truly, ever since spring I would walk into a bookstore and see this trilogy always in my face. And then my financee’s mother bought them and I decided that I would give them a try. I liked them alot, not the best books ever, or anything like that, but not the worst either. Give it a shot 🙂 Thanks for the compliment, it’s greatly appreciated 🙂 . I’ll be sure to check out your blog, since you so kindly stumbled upon mine. Have a good day.

  2. Hey, thanks for checking out my blog. Yes, I will surely give them a try when I have the time to go grab some copies and read them. Thanks again. Have a good day, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

