November

Hello everyone !!! 

Thats right, it’s November, the leaves have fallen and the weather has gotten cold. I’ve seen snowflakes dancing around yet not lingering around yet. It is getting more and more wintery everyday which makes me want to embrace my tea mug to stay warm. I hope everyone has had a lovely weekend, I just wanted to write to you all to let you know what I have been up to lately. 

I have more freedom than usual this week so I decided to go to my local library, which I haven’t done in ages. Sure I have tons of books at home to read, but I was feeling nostalgic and wanted to pick up a book to read. So I decided to go with 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher. 

Synopisis from Chapters

Razorbill | June 14, 2011 | Trade Paperback

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker – his classmate and crush – who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah”s voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he”ll find out why. Clay spends the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a firsthand witness to Hannah”s pain, and learns the truth about himself-a truth he never wanted to face.

Thirteen Reasons Why is the gripping, addictive international bestseller that has changed lives the world over. It”s an unrelenting modern classic.

 
So I decided to pick this book up and give it a try. I have heard of this book and was interested to read it. I am on pg. 148 and hooked ( Just finished Cassette 3 side B… for those of you reading the book). I find it really makes one think how your actions affect others, how this girl is calling people out to make them realize their part in the larger picture. I cannot wait to finish the book and give a complete book review. I’ll just leave it at that for now. 
 
What else have I been up to??? 
 
Well I have also been reading my readings for classes, some of which are actually pretty interesting. 
 
 

Oxford University Press | March 10, 2011 | Trade Paperback

”Twelve Year a Whore, fives times a Wife (whereof once to her own Brother), Twelve Year a Thief, Eight Year a Transported Felon in Virginia, at last grew Rich, liv”d Honest, and died a Penitent” So the title page of this extraordinary novel describes the career of the woman known as Moll Flanders, whose real name we never discover. And so, in a tour-de-force of writing by the businessman, political satirist, and spy Daniel Defoe, Moll tells her own story, a vivid and racy tale of a woman”s experience in the seamy side of life in late seventeenth- and early eighteenth-century England and America. Born in Newgate prison, and seduced in the home of her adoptive family, she learns to live off her wits, defying the traditional depiction of women as helpless victims. First published in 1722, and one of the earliest novels in the English language, its account of opportunism, endurance, and survival speaks as strongly to us today as it did to its original readers.
 
So yeah, stay tuned… I am still very much around, just have my nose in school books most of the time. 
 
Calla
Leave a Reply

