Thirteen Reasons Why

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Synopsis from Chapters:

Razorbill | June 14, 2011 | Trade Paperback

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker – his classmate and crush – who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah”s voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he”ll find out why. Clay spends the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a firsthand witness to Hannah”s pain, and learns the truth about himself-a truth he never wanted to face.Thirteen Reasons Why is the gripping, addictive international bestseller that has changed lives the world over. It”s an unrelenting modern classic.

So as I’ve mentioned in my previous blog post, I had jut started reading this book last Friday and I have literally just finished it. For those who haven’t read it, It is amazing but I urge you not to read further because there a spoilers.
I, with my busy schedule managed to devour this book and to really stop and think about it. When I fisrt started reading it, I had so many thoughts, one being that I found the concept of the book weird. But as I continued to read I began to see the bigger picture, how one big action comes from not just a single reason, but many ( thirteen in this case). This book shows how bullying is not just an indivudual act, but a communal act. I think this book passes along an important message, think before you act, you never really know or can tell whether what you say or do has an impact on somebody’s life. And this just doesn’t pertain to bullying, everything you do affects others, its part of being human. For example, in Cassette 6 side A we get the story of Jenny Kurtz, who ran into a stop sign and drove off without reporting it. Asher shows us how one moment can really be the difference between life and death, this little symbol, a story within the story of Hannah’s everyday struggle.
As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, I am passionate about the bullying issue, which is one of the reasons this book came into my hands. I found many interesting and emotionally charged quotes in the book that I think relay the whole message the author is trying to get at.
“I guess that’s the point of it all. No one knows for certain how much impact they have on the lives of other people. Often-times, we have no clue. Yet we push it just the same.” 
“Sometimes we have thoughts that even we don’t understand. Thoughts that aren’t even true–that aren’t really how we feel–but they’re running through our heads anyway because they’re interesting to think about.” 
“…Hannah looked up. Her eyes caught mine for just a moment. A flash. But she knew I was watching her. And even though no one else saw it, I turned away. She was on her own.” 
“Are your stories any less meaningful because I’m not telling you everything? No. Actually it magnifies them. You don’t really know what went on in the rest of my life. At home. Even at school. You don’t know what goes on in anyone’s life but your own. and when you mess with one part of a person’s life, you’re not messing with just that part. Unfortunately you can’t be that precise and selective. When you mess with one part of a person’s life, you’re messing with their entire life. Everything…affects everything.” 
” I was breaking. If only I’d talked to you sooner. We could have been…we could’ve…I don’t know. But things had gone too far by then. My mind was set. Not on ending my life. Not yet. It was set on floating through school. On never being close to anyone. That was my plan. I’d graduate, then I’d leave.” 
So I wish everyone a happy, well maybe not happy, but thoughtful reading when you go to pick this book up. It is a touching story  and hopefully everyone understands the message in the book.
Calla
Leave a Reply

