Blue Cheese Dinners

Good Monday afternoon everyone!

Today is a wet slushy Monday with a snow and rain mix in Toronto and the GTA so be safe out there. I had quite an awesome weekend food-wise so I thought I would share the good eats. So this weekend, there were two dinners that had something in common: blue cheese. For some reason, on Friday evening, I was craving blue cheese, I just didn’t know it quite yet. So for dinner on Friday evening, My hubby-to-be, his family and I all braved the snowy roads to go eat at this place in Oakville ( Lakeshore) called The Works. If you like making your burger a little more fancy than usual, try this place out.

A few tips with this place: come hungry ( the portions are massive, so don’t eat anything before coming to this place. You will be well-fed.), if you are thinking in terms of being economical, order just one pop or none at all, the drinks are bottomless and pop fills you up anyways ( you want to save room for all the delish food you are about to eat), think of sharing, the portions, as I’ve mentioned before, are HUGE…. so if you want to save money and share, you can totally do that.

Image

Really and truly this place has every type of burger to satisfy your gourmet needs. And each burger comes with a side, so you can choose to totally carb out or go the more “healthy” way and order up some veggies. Personally, I choose the sweet potato fries, because those are my weakness. Also, another interesting thing is the bread they use. These are your regular burger buns, they are italian ciabetta buns. That for me was a plus, it offered a unique spin on a regular burger.

What I ordered:

Blues Burger: So just like the name implies, this burger is loaded with blue cheese and paired with double smoked bacon. I thought it would be odd to have blue cheese and bacon together, but it was just so harmonious in terms of flavor. It really exceeded my expectations for this burger when I ordered it.

ImageI was concerned that the blue cheese would’t be a good one, so I did have some reservations about ordering it before I just decided to go with it. Blue cheese can be a hit or a miss for me. And this was a hit for sure. It really took this burger from bleh to WOW. And of course, any burger that has bacon is just extra awesome. And I really think that the ciabetta bun complimented this burger. I couldn’t see a regular bun being with this burger, it would ruin the look and the flavor. The sweet potato fries were great, as are all ( or most) are.

Image

My hubby-to-be ordered a Dead Ringer, which is a bbq smoked brisket with smoky bbq sauce, jack cheese and an onion ring. I tried his out too and I really liked the taste of the sauce. I would order that one the next time I visit this, and there were also other ones that looked quite promising.

So next stop: Saturday Night

Image

On Saturday, I had dinner at home and my mother made this absolutely awesome dish. It was a pasta dish with cubed and stewed beef along with blue cheese. It was a wonderful combination and a different take on just a regular stew. This was awesome, and not only because it had blue cheese, but also because it was just stew, which I`m not the biggest fan of. This weekend wrapped up with my hubby-to-be making an awesome chicken and veggie stir-fry, which featured veggies such as broccoli, zucchini, Chinese cabbage, green peppers, and bean sprouts.Very nice and filling.

Happy eating!

Calla

download (1)download

twitter-150x150

Leave a Reply

