My visit to Dobra Tea

Want to go to a secret haven that wisks you away from the present world? Well, if you are in Burlington Vermont, Dobra Tea is the place to go. So for a family vacation, my family and I planned a trip to Burlington Vt and I instantly typed in the search bar: “tea places in Burlington Vermont” and this place was one of the firsts that showed up. So way before going on this trip, I acquainted myself with the website and checked out the numerous teas that they have.

IMG_8200

The Dobra Tearoom is a sit down place where you can enjoy a variety of loose-leaf teas in numerous teapots and such. You can also enjoy some tea ceremonies and light snacks. The ambiance is just so refreshing, you really have a moment when you step into Dobra Tea. The mood is relaxing and thanks to the help of dimmed lighting and candle-lit tables, this is superbly acheived. The place originates from the Czech Republic, and there are a few locations around the united states.

IMG_8209

So we came into this place after an afternoon of shopping around town and had to wait a little.This just furthered my interest even more. Once we were seated, we got little menus and a bell. The bell was for us to use when we were ready to order, so we didn’t get that “can I take your order” rushed feeling. We were able to leisurely look at the menu and take our time. And time was neeeded, it was such a detailed menu that provided such rich information. I liked how there was an introduction in the beginning, so that even someone new to tea could feel welcome in this place. I loved the descriptions for the tea, they were also quite detailed and made the decision process easy and hard, because there was so much to choose from.

IMG_8211

The staff were friendly and very knowledgable in tea. I found them super relax, which added to that realxing amibance. There was no sign of stress in this place. So with my family we tried three different teas.

IMG_8212

I tired the Hojicha, which is a fire-roasted green tea that has a different colour and flavour than other Japanese green teas.

IMG_8206

Here’s the description from the website and menu: A bold tea of fire-roasted tea stalks which give a taste and aroma unlike that of any other Japanese tea. The infusion is dark amber, the scents reminiscent of roasted grains or chestnuts. It is recommended after a substantial meal or in the depths of winter. Very low in caffeine.

So I thought it was a great tea that was served, in what I think was a HouhinA traditional style of small Japanese teapot in Chinese-style porcelain with a built-in leaf strainer. Suitable for personal infusion of almost any sort of tea.) I loved the smoky, almost roasty smell that this tea had. It was interesting to have such a different smell to associate with tea. The taste was light, lighter than I expected.

My sister had an interesting black tea: Hong Mu Dan, which was quite pleasing to the eye. It looked particularily good and enchanting. Description from the menu/website: Pleasing the eye as much as it pleases the mouth, this display tea is made from tea leaves hand tied together to make a flower-shaped pod. Served in a glass pot to view its unfolding glory; as it opens it resembles the movements of a sea anemone. A mild, slightly sweet black tea that will last for your whole conversation.

IMG_8203

I tried a few sips of this tea an it was quite tasty, I would order this one perhaps if I revisted Dobra tea.

dobra

Lastly, my parents shared a pot of Rooibos, which came in a cute red teapot and matching mini red cups. The description from the menu/website: An herb gathered for centuries in the Cape area of South Africa by the Khoisan people, this beloved, health promoting tea has a rich body and fills the mouth, but is naturally caffeine free. Tiny needles processed in the same manner as Chinese tea, with a sweet, slightly fruity flavor hidden in its deep red infusion.

All in all, I was very much impressed by this tea place and would for sure return to Burlington to enjoy some good tea. If you are in and around Burlington Vermont, I highly reccomend you to check this place out.

IMG_8208

Happy Tea drinking!!!

Calla

 

ImageImageImageImage

 

Leave a Reply

