The Fault in Our Stars

Good Afternoon/ evening!!

So last week I had my reading week and got some fun reading in, I read Mary Jance Davidson’s Undead and Unwed and also read John Green’s The Fault in our Stars. I also started reading Alan Bradley’s The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie and read a few pages of George RR Martin’s A Storm of Swords. Today, I will be focusing on The Fault in Our Stars which is, I will admit a fun read, yet also a heart wrencher. I did cry at the end of this book, not to have any spoliers, but this book twists and teases you till the end.

0525478817

I really enjoyed reading this book, it took me I would say, about 8 hours to read this book. I guess you could say that I was hooked. There is something about John Green and his books, that latches onto you and doesn’t let you go until you finish the book.

So here’s a synopsis from chapters:

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning-author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

I really enjoyed this book, I saw it recently in a blog post, and told myself to pick off my bookshelf and read it. I don’t regret reading it, it made me so sad and brought me to tears, but in that respect, I find that it was a good book, any book that can give a person such powerful emotions deserves to be read. I thought I wouldn’t be able to finish reading this tragic story, as it is centered around cancer, but I made it through, and I am glad I did. It was wonderfully written and I literally couldn’t put it down. I do see where it is a love story, one of those star-crossed love stories ( going back to Romeo and Juliet).

My fave quotes from the novel:

I’m in love with you, am I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labour has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.

I started scrolling through the pictures on my phone, a backward flip-book of the last few months, beginning with him and Issac outside of Monica’s house and ending with the first picture I’d taken of him, on the drive to Funky Bones. It seemed like forever ago, like we’d had this brief but still infinite forever. Some inifnities are bigger than other inifinities.

It’s hard as hell to hold onto your dignity when the risen sun is too bright in your losing eyes, and that’s what I was thinking about as we hunted for bad guys through the ruins of a city that didn’t exist.

Here are some other thoughts on it:

  • Hazel Grace is an enlightened 16 year old girl, and the narrator of her seemingly inglorious story of her battle with pain and social apathy. “Sickness really does eat up one’s passion for life.” “That’s the thing about pain, it demands to be felt.” However, 17 year old Augustus is quickly introduced to the plot and suddenly Hazel has an equal to challenge her mind. It was not long before I had to pry the book out of my hands, find a note book, and start writing out quotes that I’m sure I will be using for years to come. Suffice it to say, “I fell in love with this book the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.”
  • The most memorable novels are those that put life into perspective and indirectly teach without preaching. This novel did exactly that. Through the witty, light hearted characters and thought provoking dialogue, John Green created a love story so refreshing and so deep, it will remain as unforgotten as an old tale. It was an emotional rollercoaster that completely absorbed me; all while reminding me the essence of life and love.
  • There is a danger of listening to and reading the rave reviews of other people about a book. “The Fault In Our Stars” fell victim to such danger.John Green gives a voice to his leading lady, and adeptly captures the emotions and thoughts of Hazel, and her star-crossed connection with Augustus. The brilliant parts of the novel I absolutely adored were the tender moments between our two leads, and the camaraderie amongst them and their good friend Isaac, who, actually, is my favourite character. Hazel, whom I don’t quite mind, is even-headed, and possesses quite the maturity and awareness of how she is in relation to the people around her. She is constantly pushing for her parents to lead a life of their own, in full-knowing of what would become of her. At one point, she corrects her mother of her situation: when, not if. This, in a way, stands true for us all. On the other hand, Augustus can be quite a dislikeable male lead. As charming and good-looking as he is, he is at times self-indulgent, even if he tries to downplay his attractiveness. The things he say come across as pretentious and illicit some minor eye-rolls. Green had made Augustus too much of a smart alec for his own good.By doing this, though, Green has provided readers, at least those who has a lesser opinion of Augustus, a good balance to the many sides of being a teenager, especially one fighting cancer. Both Hazel and Augustus, and Isaac too, are not only ‘woe-is-me’ teens that the readers have to take pity on because of their affliction, but they can be dislikable, they can be cheeky and make use of their “cancer perks” to their advantage. And when they do mope and lament, they are coming from a justifiable place, and are understandably sympathetic.There are some events that happen along the way that take readers out of a box that one might come to naturally restrict their minds to due to cancer being a huge part of the plot. It came as a nice surprise because it expanded the borders and changed the way I thought the story would progress. In fact, many a times, I would think I had the plot and the ending figured out, only to have Green prove to me that what I assumed were blatant plot devices, were in fact not as predictable and clichéd. “The Fault In Our Stars” is definitely a read I would recommend because of its realism in a time when YA is overwhelmed by dystopian and fantasy teen novels. It’s a given, tears are to be expected. Perhaps it might touch you more and you might quickly identify with it, but it was overhyped it my books.

So pick up this wonderful reaed, and a box of tissues while you’re at it and happy reading!!

Calla

 

ImageImageImageImage

 

Leave a Reply

