The Fault in Our Stars: memorable quotes

Hello fellow bloggers!

This morning, I spent my time watching John Green read the first two chapters of his book, The Fault in Our Stars. It was  a great listen, and I suggest you watch them if you are on the fence about reading this book, which, by the way, is AWESOME. So with that, I pulled up some quotes from the first two chapters, quotes that I loved, so I’ll share them with you, along with some thoughts on how others found this book, so enjoy!!!

” ‘There will come a time,’ I said, ‘when all of us are dead. All of us.  There will come a time when there are no human beings remaining to remember that anyone ever existed or that our species ever did anything. There will be no one left to remember Aristotle or Cleopatra, let alone you. Everything that we did and built and wrote and thought and discovered will be forgotten and all of this… will have been for naught. Maybe that time is coming soon and maybe it is millions of years away, but even if we survive the collapse of our sun, we will not survive forever. There was a time before organisms experienced conciousness, and there will be a time after. And if the inevitability of human oblivion worries you, I encourage you to ignore it. God knows that’s what everyone else does.’ ” pg. 12-13

” Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book. And then there are books like An Imperial Affliction, which you can’t tell people about, books so special and rare and yours that advertising your affection feels like a betrayal” pg. 33

Reviews/ thoughts:

  • luff4bewbz : I was really unsure of whether or not to buy this book, I love John Green and his writing but my mother recently passed away from cancer and I wasn’t sure I could handle re-living all the memories. I’d just like to say that after listening to the marvellous John Green reading the first 2 chapters, he’s enthralled me. I’m definitely going to buy this book now, it seems to be a quirky, thoroughly honest book and I would be proud to have another one of John Greens masterpieces on my shelf ❤

My thoughts while listening to the first two chapters made me want to read the book a second time around, so I feel I will and will see things differently.

Happy reading!

Calla

ImageImageImageImage

 

Leave a Reply

